• Archives

  • All about strengthening our beautiful bones

Broken leg – hard work ahead

Today I woke up with an epiphany.  After having a splendid dream, where I was walking, aid-free and feeling light as a bird, I wakened to reality.  Yes, it is now past five weeks since surgery, coming up to that magic six week promise of recovery given by doctors.  You know, the promise that most people experienced with broken bones say is wishful thinking.

And my revelation …. I realized the pain from my broken leg has subsided quite a lot.  (maybe that’s what the doctors mean by recovery)  What is left is a heaviness and weakness in the leg that makes it luggy and unwieldy.  What will it take to renew the muscle strength in that leg?  A lot of work, methinks.  I am now walking 900 feet at a time.  My goal is to build on this everyday.  Again, the realization is clear …. consistently working those leg muscles, the more the better,  will lead me to reaching the delight of my last night’s dream.

Leave a comment